Tag Archives: Databases

New Database: Literature Resource Center

Yuba College Library has purchased a subscription to Literature Resource Center database, containing scholarly criticism, reviews, biographies, primary sources, multimedia, and more.  Literature Resource Center will be added to the Library’s database collection in the MyCampus Portal, and access to the database will begin on January 1, 2012.

Here is a description of the database from Gale:

Literature Resource Center is the most current, comprehensive, and reliable online literature resource. It’s materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers will find information on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines. Included are:

  • Entries on 135,000 authors, from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other sources
  • More than 850,000 full-text articles, essays and reviews from 390 journals and magazines
  • More than 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from Contemporary Literary Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, as well as Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Children’s Literature Review
  • More than 11,000 overviews of frequently studied works, from sources including Gale’sFor Students series, Literature and Its Times and Characters in 20th-Century Fiction
  • More than 30,000 full-text poems, short stories and plays
  • More than 8,500 interviews
  • More than 6,000 links to web sites and 4,000 portraits
  • The ability to identify authors and works that share characteristics
  • Merriam-Webster’s Encyclopedia of Literature

New and updated material is added continuously. Materials from forthcoming volumes of Gale’s literature series are added throughout the year, along with full-text journal articles and web sites.

The Library appreciates the input it received from the English department regarding the usefulness of this database as well as the value that it would add to the department’s curriculum.

Leave a comment

Filed under Library Services

New Database: ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

Yuba College Library has purchased a subscription to ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source database, containing scholarly nursing journals, training videos, and more.  The database will be included on the Library’s list of databases in the MyCampus Portal, and access to the database will begin on January 1, 2012.

Here is a description of the database from ProQuest:

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,050 titles, with over 875 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,300 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.

Find coverage for over 70 wide-ranging topics including:

  • Cytology
  • Nursing
  • Nutrition
  • Oncology
  • Pediatric Care
  • Pharmacology
  • Public Health
  • Radiology

The Library appreciates the feedback it received from the Nursing department during the trial period of ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source regarding the value that this database would add to the department’s curriculum.

Leave a comment

Filed under Library Services